The Lady's Not for Burning

Comedy - Original

Royale Theatre

Data not verified
  • First Preview:
  • Opening Date: November 8, 1950
  • Closing Date: March 17, 1951
  • Previews: 0
  • Performances: 151

Playwright: Christopher Fry

Opening Night Cast

Pamela Brown Jennet Jourdemayne
John Gielgud in The Lady's Not for Burning John Gielgud Thomas Mendip
Peter Bull Edward Tappercoom
Richard Burton in The Lady's Not for Burning Richard Burton Richard
David Evans Nicholas Devise
George Howe Hebble Tyson
Richard Leech Humphrey Devise
Eliot Makeham The Chaplin
See Full Opening Night Cast

Opening Night Production Credits

  Christopher Fry Writer
John Gielgud John Gielgud Director
  Oliver Messel Decor
  C. Edwin Knill General Manager
  Charles Mulligan Company Manager
  Willard Keefe Press Representative
See Full Opening Night Production credits
See More


New York Drama Critics' Circle

Year Category Name Winner/Nominee
1951 Best Foreign Play Christopher Fry Winner

Theatre World

Year Category Name Winner/Nominee
1951 Theatre World Award Richard Burton Winner
You are submitting a comment about: The page you are currently on: The Lady's Not for Burning on Broadway - Information, Cast, Crew, Synopsis and Photos - Playbill Vault
The website in general
What are you writing about?
Who are you?
Explain your reason for writing to us