The 1940's Radio Hour

Musical - Original

St. James Theatre

Data not verified
  • First Preview: September 25, 1979
  • Opening Date: October 7, 1979
  • Closing Date: January 6, 1980
  • Previews: 14
  • Performances: 105

Playwright: Walton Jones


A struggling radio show puts on its 1942 radio broadcast, which features many hit songs from the era.


Opening Night Cast

Dennis Anderson Charlie "Kid Lips" Snyder
Kathy Andrini Connie Miller
Jane Ira Bloom Bonnie Cavanaugh
Dee Dee Bridgewater Geneva Lee Browne
Billy Butler Custis Jones
Rick Centalonza Fess "Snookie" Davenport
John Doolittle Biff Baker
Josh Edwards Moe "Lockjaw" Ambrose
See Full Opening Night Cast

Opening Night Production Credits

  Walton Jones Writer
  Walton Jones Director
  Thommie Walsh Musical Staging
  David Gropman Scenic Design
William Ivey Long William Ivey Long Costume Design
  Tharon Musser Lighting Design
See Full Opening Night Production credits
See More

Shows That Opened That Season: 1979 - 1980

See entire season


Drama Desk Award

Year Category Name Winner/Nominee
1980 Outstanding Costume Design William Ivey Long Nominee
1980 Outstanding Director of a Musical Walton Jones Nominee
1980 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical Jeff Keller Nominee
1980 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical Joe Grifasi Nominee
1980 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical Crissy Wilzak Nominee
1980 Outstanding Musical   Nominee

Theatre World

Year Category Name Winner/Nominee
1980 Theatre World Award Stephen James Winner
You are submitting a comment about: The page you are currently on: The 1940's Radio Hour on Broadway - Information, Cast, Crew, Synopsis and Photos - Playbill Vault
The website in general
What are you writing about?
Who are you?
Explain your reason for writing to us