The Trial of the Catonsville Nine

Play - Original

Lyceum Theatre

Data not verified
  • First Preview:
  • Opening Date: June 2, 1971
  • Closing Date: June 26, 1971
  • Previews: 0
  • Performances: 29

Playwright: Daniel Berrigan


Father Daniel Berrigan, one of nine Jesuit priests who burned Vietnam War draft cards on site at the District Court of Maryland in 1968 and were sent to prison, dramatizes the experience in this play.


Opening Night Cast

Mason Adams Judge
Jacqueline Coslow Marjorie Melville
Ronnie Clair Edwards Mary Moylan
Peter Gorwin Marshal
Barton Heyman John Hogan
William Biff  McGuire in The Trial of the Catonsville Nine William Biff McGuire Philip Berrigan
Michael Moriarty George Mische
Gerry Murphy Marshal
See Full Opening Night Cast

Opening Night Production Credits

  Daniel Berrigan Writer
  Saul Levitt Text prepared for New York production by
Gordon Davidson Gordon Davidson Director
  Peter Wexler Scenic Design
Albert Wolsky Albert Wolsky Costume Design
  Tharon Musser Lighting Design
See Full Opening Night Production credits
See More


New York Drama Critics' Circle

Year Category Name Winner/Nominee
1971 Best American Play   Nominee

Outer Critics Circle

Year Category Name Winner/Nominee
1971 Special Achievement Award   Winner

Tony Award

Year Category Name Winner/Nominee
1972 Direction of a Play Gordon Davidson Nominee
You are submitting a comment about: The page you are currently on: The Trial of the Catonsville Nine on Broadway - Information, Cast, Crew, Synopsis and Photos - Playbill Vault
The website in general
What are you writing about?
Who are you?
Explain your reason for writing to us